The Captain’s Drive-In and Putt Out ceremonial event was held last Sunday and what a day it was. After the rain on Saturday, we were treated to a glorious sunny Sunday. 96 players took to the course to play in a best 3 out of 4 scores to count competition, with power plays on 4 holes, nearest the pins on 6 and 14, 2s and the best-dressed team all eligible for prizes.

Immediately following play, the ceremonial Putt Out and Drive-In took place. Lee Wood, our new Club Captain, placed a ball in a tricky position, some 25 feet from the hole, for Graham Robertson to putt. Nevertheless, Graham managed to sink his ball with two fine strokes of the ball. Lee then stepped on to the 10th tee to execute his drive for all to see. Andy Brunger made the best guess for where Lee’s drive would end up.

Mark Lambert conducted prize ceremonies by first announcing the Summer Knockout Trophy winners who were unable to play their finals on finals day. The trophies presented were:

Cavan Mallon for the Buckland Putter, Fiona Salmon and Dan Ryan for the Russell Trophy, and Cliff Conway for the Staunton Trophy.

As for the Captain’s Drive-In team competition, some excellent scores were posted but when all was said and done it came down to count back to separate the 3rd and 2nd place teams each scoring 120 points. Third place went to the team of Andrew Smyth, Angela Kokaram, Paul Coates, and Jan Houlberg.

Second place went to the team of Jason Saunders, Eva Lau, Sam Randall and Andrew Passfield.

First place, with a score of 124 points, went to the team of Terrence Mason, James Chisholm, Mitch Todd and Harley Blackwell.

Other prizes were awarded for 2s recorded on the day (Jennie Corfield, Joe Silcock, Jon Silcock, Jonathan Hedges, and Alan Millican), nearest the pin on 14 for the men (won by Joe Silcock) and on 6 for the Ladies (won by Jennie Corfield). The rules quiz prepared by Tiku Patel was won by two entrants with equal scores – David Calcutt and David Kircher. Finally, the prize for the best-dressed team (although we’re sure they may have preferred to win 1st place in the team competition!), went to the immaculately turned out team of Mark Clements, Tim Goodwin, George Gray and Ryan Donachie.

Thank you to everyone who turned out for what felt like a very good day for all involved.

(Click here to view all the photos from the day.)