Saturday saw the culmination of the competition season with the Club Finals Day and Captains’ Fun Competition.

5 finals were played in total, and 12 teams took part in the Captains’ Fun Competition with a shot gun start at 08:30. There was some very good golf played and some hard fought matches.

The winning finalists on the day were:

Staunton – Chris Dalton beat Graham Woodfine

5 Day Summer Singles – David Calcutt beat Mark Lambert

Buckland Putter – Sam Storey beat Dan Ryan

5 Day Summer Pairs – Chris Pritchard & Andy Fielding beat Alastair Maciver & Martin Dowthwaite

Walker Bowl – Angela Kokaram & Gill Wood beat Jacqui Cawley & Jennifer Corfield


In the Captains’ Fun Competition the team prizes went to:

1st – Alison Lavis, Trevor Coleman, Malcolm Wells, John Moynihan 118 points

2nd – Margaret Deery, Andy Brunger, Mike Cole, Jan Houlberg 117 points

3rd – Pauline Gibbs, Jason Grech, Graham Robertson, Malcolm Wells (phantom) 115 points


Nearest the pins were won by Jennifer Corfield for the Ladies and Peter Hurwood for the Men.


A number of other trophies were presented on the day for those who had success throughout the season:


Men’s 5 Day Winter Pairs – Chris Pritchard & Andy Fielding

Men’s 7 Day Singles – Jan Holberg

Men’s 7 Day Winter Pairs – Kar Martin & Jason Grech

Men’s Flag Trophy – Kar Martin

Men’s Restricted Club – Mike Cole

Anniversary Bowl – Sue Mitchell

Ladies’ Jacqui Cundell Plate – Susan Holland

Audrey Ingram Trophy – Jacqui Cawley

Ladies’ Flag Trophy – Pauline Gibbs

Ladies’ Winter League – Joanna Lambert

Mixed Fettes Trophy – Jacqui Cawley & Adrian Dunning


Finally, Malcolm Wells and his Tigers team were presented with the 90’s league trophy for a second successive year. Two in a row is a fantastic achievement!

A big thank you to all who took part and everyone involved in bringing the day together, and a special thank you for our two main organisers, John Burton and Lynn Lambert.

Photographs from the day are available to view on Facebook by clicking here.